LOS ANGELES CRIMINAL
LAW CENTER

Get the latest crime news in Los Angeles County

Request a Free Consultation

About Los Angeles Criminal Law Center

Los Angeles Criminal Law Center is sponsored by The Rodriguez Law Group, a criminal defense firm serving Los Angeles, CA and the surrounding areas. The Rodriguez Law Group was founded by Ambrosio E. Rodriguez, a former prosecutor with over 18 years experience. During his time as a prosecutor, Mr. Rodriguez handled serious criminal matters including sex crimes and death penalty cases. The information on this site is intended to assist anyone going through the criminal justice process.


LA Special Victims Detective Suspected of Raping Young Victim

A Sheriff’s detective with the Las Angeles Special Victims Bureau was recently arrested on suspicion of rape. According to reports, the detective was assigned to investigate a 2014 sexual assault involving a 14-year-old girl in Ventura County. However, rather than investigating the case, the detective allegedly forced the young girl to have sex with him. After the sexual assault, he reportedly took steps to suppress testimony that may have been offered by the victim or witnesses. The detective has been suspended from his job with pay and is currently being held in a Los Angeles County jail on bail of $2 million.

What are the Penalties For Forcible Rape of a Minor?

The Los Angeles Sheriff’s detective has been arrested for the forcible rape of a 14-year-old girl. Rape, as defined in Penal Code 261 PC, is the crime of forcing another person to have sex without his or her consent or knowledge. The crime of rape is always a felony offense in California. Minimum penalties, for crimes without aggravating factors, can include three, six, or eight years in a California state prison. There are very limited situations in which the penalty for rape can be reduced to one year of felony probation. However, these situations do not involve young victims who cannot consent to the act.

The penalties for the crime of rape are enhanced when the victim is a minor.

Under the Age of 18: Penalties enhanced to seven, nine, or eleven years in a Calfornia state prison.

Under the Age of 14: Penalties enhanced to nine, eleven, or thirteen years in prison.

Anyone convicted of the crime of rape will also be required to register with the state as a tier-three sex offender. Tier-three offenders must maintain their status on the sex offender registry for life.

Could the Detective Face Other Criminal Charges?

Yes. In addition to those for rape, the detective could also face charges for lewd or lascivious acts with a child. He’s more likely to face these additional charges because his alleged victim was only 14 at the time of the sexual assault.

Lewd acts with a minor child, as defined in Penal Code 288 PC, is the crime of touching the body of a child for sexual gratification. The penalties for this crime depend on the age of the child and/or the age difference between the child and the perpetrator. This would be a lesser-included offense of the felony rape charge. If the crime involved a 14-year-old victim, the penalty could include either (a) one, two, or three years in a California state prison or (b) up to one year in county jail. Lewd acts that inflict bodily harm are punishable by life in prison.

What is Witness Tampering?

In addition to rape, the detective is accused of witness tampering. Witness tampering, as defined in Penal Code 136.1 PC, is the crime of knowingly and maliciously attempting to dissuade a victim or witness from either:

  • Reporting a crime
  • Aiding an arrest
  • Aiding in the prosecution of a crime, or
  • Testifying in a criminal proceeding.

Simply put, witness tampering involves any behavior that’s intended to dissuade or prevent someone from aiding in a criminal case.

Witness tampering can be a misdemeanor or a felony. The detective likely used his status as a peace officer to intimidate his victim or a witness. This could be considered the use of force or fear. When the crime is committed using force or fear, it will be charged as a felony. Penalties for felony witness tampering can include up to four years in a California state prison and $25,000 in fines.

The detective is convicted for both rape and witness tampering, the penalties for the crimes could be imposed concurrently (at the same time) or consecutively (one after another).

 

Have you been arrested in Los Angeles? You have the right to defend yourself. Hiring an attorney will help to ensure that your rights are protected. Contact the experienced criminal defense team at the Los Angeles Criminal Law Center. We’ll review your case and help you fight to protect your future.

In 2010, Daniel Wozniak shot and killed two people. According to reports, he committed the murders because he was feeling significant financial pressure because of his upcoming wedding. He was arrested at his bachelor party days after the bodies were discovered. Earlier this month, Wozniak’s former fiance was convicted for her role in the crime. A jury found that Rachel Buffett, Wozniak’s fiance at the time of the murders, had been an accessory to the crime after the fact for “lying to police” and helping him “try and get away with his crimes.”

What is an Accessory After the Fact?

It’s illegal to help another person commit a crime. It’s also unlawful to help another person try to get away with a crime. If you do anything that is intended to help another person escape responsibility for a criminal act that’s already been committed, you can be considered an accessory after the fact.

You’ll be considered an accessory after the fact under Penal Code 32 PC if you “harbor, conceal, or aid” a principal in a felony after it has been committed if you have the intent to help that person “avoid or escape from arrest, trial, conviction, or punishment.”

What Does the State Have to Prove?

Remember, you can only be convicted of a crime if the state can prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Prosecutors can only do this if they establish each element of the crime. When you are accused of being an accessory after the fact, the state must prove:

  1. Someone committed a felony;
  2. You knew that the person had committed the felony, or had been charged with or convicted of a felony;
  3. You harbored, concealed, or aided that person after the felony had been committed; and
  4. You intended to help the person evade arrest, trial, conviction, or punishment.

In other words, you had to have intentionally offered assistance to help someone avoid the consequences of a felony offense.

Examples of Accessory After the Fact

You may be considered an accessory after the fact in violation of Penal Code 32 if you:

  • Intentionally mislead or lie to police
  • Offer a false alibi
  • Help another person hide evidence related to a felony
  • Destroy evidence related to a crime, or
  • Allowing a person to hide in your home after a crime.

If you know that someone has committed a felony or been charged with a felony, it is a crime to offer any assistance that would help them escape the consequences.

Is Being an Accessory After the Fact a Felony?

Accessory after the fact, as defined in Penal Code 32 PC, can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in Los Angeles. The charges you’ll face will depend on an analysis of several factors, which may include:

  • Your criminal record
  • The aid you offered to the perpetrator
  • The underlying felony offense, and
  • Any harm caused by your actions.

Misdemeanor Accessory After the Fact: As a misdemeanor, accessory after the fact is punishable by 12 months in a Los Angeles County jail and/or $5,000 in fines.

Felony Accessory After the Fact: As a felony, accessory after the fact is punishable by up to 3 years in a California state prison and $5,000 in fines.

How Can I Defend Myself If I’ve Been Accused of Being an Accessory After the Fact?

You have the right to defend yourself when you’re accused of a crime in Los Angeles. The best defenses will make it tough for the state to build a case against you. When you are charged with being an accessory after the fact, the following defenses may be helpful:

  1. You didn’t know the perpetrator had committed a felony
  2. You didn’t know the perpetrator had been charged with or convicted of a felony
  3. The perpetrator didn’t commit a felony
  4. You did not conceal, harbor, or aid the perpetrator
  5. You did not intend to help the perpetrator avoid arrest, trial, or penalties
  6. You were forced to provide assistance, or
  7. You have been falsely accused.

Did the state gather evidence in violation of your rights? Were you the victim of an illegal search, seizure, or arrest? You can also demand to have any evidence tainted by illegal state action excluded from your case. If prosecutors don’t have direct evidence of your crime they may be forced to drop the charges or offer a plea. If you need a criminal defense attorney, see the top 7 questions you need to ask when hiring a criminal lawyer.

 

If you’ve been arrested for a crime in Los Angeles it’s important to ask for help. Hiring an attorney will help you secure the best outcome in your criminal case. Contact the Los Angeles Criminal Law Center to learn more.

A Los Angeles-area man has been arrested for a handful of crimes, including indecent exposure, after hugging a young teen girl while naked. According to reports, the man, who appeared to be under the influence of drugs, was wandering around a neighborhood and asking to go inside random homes. Concerned neighbors called the police, but not before he had the chance to take off his clothes and go into a residential backyard. Dogs outside of the family home began to bark, which prompted a young teen girl to go outside. The man allegedly grabbed and hugged her while completely naked.

What is Indecent Exposure?

Indecent exposure, as defined in Penal Code 314 PC, is the crime of exposing your private parts to another person with the intent to sexually gratify, offend, or annoy. It’s actually a very broad offense that can cover a wide range of behaviors.

When a person is accused of indecent exposure, the state has the burden of proving they:

  • Willfully and lewdly;
  • Exposed his private parts; and
  • In a public place or any place in which there are others who would be annoyed or offended.

Willfully: Willful acts are those that are done with purpose and intent. This prevents simple accidents, like forgetting to zip the fly of your pants, from evolving into criminal acts.

Lewd: Lewdness refers to the intent behind the act. Lewd can mean doing something with the intent to:

  • Sexually gratify or arouse yourself
  • Sexually gratify or arouse another person, or
  • Offend another person in a sexual way.

Public or Private Place With Others: You can be charged with indecent exposure if you committed a lewd act in public or in a private place where other people, who are likely to be offended or annoyed, are present. Whether or not a person would be offended or annoyed is a question of fact. It will depend on the specific circumstances of each specific case.

Indecent Exposure Can Be a Misdemeanor or Felony

Indecent exposure is typically a misdemeanor in California. Without any aggravating circumstances, indecent exposure is punishable by:

  • 6 months in a Los Angeles County jail; and/or
  • $1,000 in fines.

Indecent exposure can also be charged as a felony. The charges can be aggravated when indecent exposure occurs in an inhabited dwelling (e.g., house, building) that you didn’t have permission to be in. In certain cases, the crime can still be charged as a misdemeanor. Felony indecent exposure is punishable by:

  • 16 months to 3 years in a California state prison; and/or
  • $10,000 in criminal fines.

Whether or not you face misdemeanor or felony charges will depend on the specific circumstances of your case.

Indecent Exposure Conviction Requires Registration as a Sex Offender

Anyone convicted of indecent exposure in California will be required to register as a Tier One Sex Offender with the state. This is true whether you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony. Tier One Sex Offenders are required to register with the state for a minimum of 10 years. The 10-year period begins once you are released from detention and custody.

Failure to register with the state as a sex offender can make you vulnerable to additional criminal charges and penalties. Once you have successfully complied with the terms of the registry for 10 years, you have the right to file a petition to terminate your status as a sex offender.

Defending Indecent Exposure Charges in Los Angeles

Even though you have been charged with a crime, you still have the power to fight for your future. The state has to prove that you are guilty of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt. You can make this difficult for them by asserting a strong defense. The best defenses will explain, excuse, and/or justify your alleged behavior.

Defenses can include:

  • False accusation
  • Mistaken identity
  • Acts not done in public or in view of others
  • The victim should not have been offended or annoyed
  • Illegal search and seizure, or
  • Unlawful arrest.

You also have the option of attacking the state’s evidence against you and undermining their case. Get help by visiting our guide on the questions you need to ask when hiring a criminal defense attorney.

 

It’s important to defend yourself against any criminal charges in Los Angeles. Hiring an attorney will help you secure the best result in your case. Call our Los Angeles criminal defense lawyers today to schedule a free consultation.